Add, Edit, and Remove Users

Updated by Cassidy Chassagne

How to Add New Members/Users to Switchboard:
  1. In your Switchboard Menu, click Members.
  2. On the right side, click Invite New Members
  3. This will open a window on your page. Add the email(s) of the people you want to add in the box under “Email Addresses”
  4. Select the roles for the new user(s) at the organization level
    1. Organization Owner – Has all admin level roles by default. Can only be updated by Switchboard Support.
    2. Organization Admin – Can invite new members and update roles for non-owners. We recommend giving this to your staff/team members that are directors, managers, or will be handling the implementation of your texting and/or email programs.
    3. Organization User – Has access based on tool roles assigned defined below. Cannot invite new members or update roles. This is the how you give access to specific parts of Switchboard (i.e. inbox-only, billing-only).
  5. Set feature-level permissions as needed
  6. Click Send Invitation to invite your new team members!
    1. This is at the bottom of the window, you will have to scroll down.
Note, you are only able to bulk invite people with the same role. If you want different email addresses to have different privileges you will need to add them individually.
How to Edit Member Roles:
  1. In your Switchboard Menu, click Members.
  2. Find the member whose role you want to edit. On the right side, click “Edit Roles.”
  3. This will open a window on your page. Add the email(s) of the people you want to add in the box under “Email Addresses”
  4. Select the roles for the new user(s):
    1. Organization Owner – Has all admin level roles by default. Can only be updated by Switchboard Support.
    2. Organization Admin – Can invite new members and update roles for non-owners. We recommend giving this to your staff/team members that are directors, managers, or will be handling the implementation of the texting program at the top level.
    3. Organization User – Has access based on tool roles assigned defined below. Cannot invite new members or update roles. We recommend giving this to volunteers/ staff that are replying to texts or creating shortlinks.
  5. Select Messaging Settings for your new user(s):
    1. Messaging Admin – Can send, schedule, and pause broadcasts; export data related to broadcasts, phone lists, and contacts; all user capabilities of Messaging User.
    2. Messaging User – Can view/create/edit/delete broadcasts, but cannot send broadcast messages or export data. Can view/create/edit/delete phone lists, view/opt-out contacts, view/edit automated series.
    3. No Access
  6. Select Inbox Settings for your new user(s):
    1. Inbox Admin – Can create/edit/delete canned responses, and all Inbox User capabilities.
    2. Inbox User – Can view inbox messages, send reply messages, dismiss/opt out contacts.
    3. No Access
  7. Select Shortlink access for your new user(s):
    1. Shortlink Admin – Can export shortlinks and all Shortlink User capabilities.
    2. Shortlink User – Can view/create/enable shortlinks.
    3. No Access
  8. Select your Billing access for your new user(s):
    1. Billing Admin – Can export and view billing data.
    2. Billing User – Can view billing data.
    3. No Access
  9. Click Send Invitation to invite your new team members!
    1. This is at the bottom of the window, you will have to scroll down.

How to Remove a Member:
  1. In your Switchboard Menu, click Members.
  2. Find the member whose role you want to edit. On the right side, click “Remove Member.”
  3. A window will pop up asking you to confirm you’re removing the right person. If yes, click confirm.


How did we do?